Questions about DPT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pamplemousse11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a recent college graduate and I'm considering becoming a physical therapist. I was a French and Spanish double major in undergrad and was planning on going to law school. I got in, but I wanted to take a year off and work before starting law school. I've now started to think that law may not be the best career path for me. I've been researching other options and pt seems like a great idea. I live in Georgia and went to a good undergrad and got a 3.5 gpa. I've taken statistics and bio, but I have none of the other pre-requisites. For Emory's dpt program I'm only missing four classes (human anatomy, human physiology, and physics I and II). I am thinking about signing up for two classes in January and two in the fall at Kennesaw State University. But my question is, is this enough? Even if I get A's in these classes, are they going to look for a student that has taken more science classes? Most of the other schools in Georgia require chemistry I and II and an upper level psychology class (I only took intro psych). Should I take all possible required pre-requisites to show that I am capable? I am going to start shadowing some physical therapists at my local hospital as well for about 40 hours. Is this enough? I am also planning on finding a few other places to volunteer at after for about 40 hours each as well. Is this enough experience or do they want more? And Emory is ranked 7th in the country, but is the price worth it? Should I instead look at other Georgia schools that are not as good, but will result in less debt? I am used to looking at law schools where rank means everything. How important is rank for pt school? Even with all this will I even begin to compete with students who were science majors and have been volunteering all through undergrad? I'm just afraid I will put in time