Question on medical directors and calling for orders

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PA-C Texas

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, my name is James and I am a Licensed Paramedic and PA-C in Texas. I work in a small ER and also moonlight PRN for a 911 service and a helicopter service, usually about twice a month for each.

I sort of work in a dual capacity on these services and have both medical directors as supervising physicians to work as a PA. The only time I have to call for anything is for Morphine with the ground service because our pain management protocols are somewhat limited and I cannot prescribe Schedule II controlled substances. I don't have to call for things like exceeding the recommended dosage etc. on other drugs because I prescribe them under my own license since I have collaborative agreements with the supervising physicians.

When I do call for morphine on the truck, I call the hospital and speak directly with the the attending physician for orders, and I have even gotten in the habit of giving patient report directly to physicians over the radio when transporting a critical patient. I realize that this is partly because I work with physicians all the time, but IMO, Paramedics work as an extension of the physician much like PA's do. I was wondering what everyone else does. Do you talk to a nurse when requesting orders?

Paramedics are trained in the medical model just as I am or a doctor is, and we work under the direction of a licensed physician. Do you talk to the doc or to a nurse when you call for orders? I will give nurses report on stable patients, etc. but I believe we need to have better communication with our ER docs, so I try to get them involved. When I get to the hospital, however, I always give report to the nurse AND the physician or PA/NP and have them sign my documentation. I cannot transfer care to an RN because of abandonment issues.