Question for those who work in Forensic Settings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigdreamer3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm interested in learning more about the various experiences of those of you who work in forensics. Specifically, I'm hoping to get a rough idea of daily responsibilities, pay, work/life balance, etc. for the three broad areas of: private practice, corrections, and state hospitals.

My career interests at this point lean toward assessment and evaluation and less toward therapy, so if anyone can speak specifically to that it would be amazing! I'm a first generation college student and I'm having a tough time understanding how to know where I want to work because I largely have no idea what to expect from the daily life of a professional. So, what do your lives look like?

I'm aware this will vary hugely. I'm mostly interested in hearing stories and seeing what possibilities are out there to create for myself. Any professional and/or life advice is welcome and appreciated. =)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm interested to hear people' responses as well, including for those who work with courts.