Q/A for FM applicants (I matched with low scores)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

playingfrombehind

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone this is a Q/A for people interested in FM. I matched with very low scores. Ask away and I'll try my best to shed some light.

-stats: failed one of the USMLEs, <200 Step 1, >200 Step 2, first pass step 2 CS
-applied to about 100 programs in FM some psych, IM - received about 70 interviews, ended up going on about 40+ (lost count at 38)

PEARLS from the interview season:

1) US-medical grad preferably no VISA issues gives you a massive massive advantage. Perhaps the most important reason why I got so many invites is because I was a US student. Obviously doesn't help IMGs but wanted to shed some light on that.

2) Step 1 score requirements as written in Freida are fluid, not set in stone - I didn't meet alot of the Step 1 score req but exceeded step 2 scores.
-if you have the year off I highly recommend you take step 3
-step 2 cs is very important - for alot of my apps you could not fail the step 2 CS but could fail other USMLEs.

3) I applied to about 100 programs in total - received about 70 invites, ended up going on about 40 interviews (stopped counting at 38 interviews)
-the vast majority of invites in October-November, and about 10-15 or so trickled in December-January
-referring to the NRMP regional map:
-
I was not sure where to apply as my school mentor were not academic family doctors, so I applied very broadly in every major region on the NRMP map
-vast majority of interviews in Central and Northeastern area - 90% success rate (apps to interviews)
-western states were not as competitive as I thought - received invites from all places I applied to (~4)
-midwestern states were competitive 4 interviews out of about 10 apps
-the south was most competitive for me- for me about 1:8 (app to interview ratio)