PTs: How many patients do you see an hour?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTNT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got to shadow my first PT at an outpatient clinic yesterday, and the one thing that stood out to me was how much multitasking she did. I had assumed PTs mostly worked 1-on-1, but she was typically handling 2-3 patients at a time, kinda running from one to the next. Is this common for all settings, or is it exclusive to smaller outpatient clinics?

Members don't see this ad.

I used to work as an aide/tech at a company with many outpatient clinics throughout the Chicago area.

Our PTs would normally have 2 patients/hour (patients were scheduled in half hour increments). Normally the patient would come in and get an Ultrasound from an aide/tech, warmup on equipment, or get heat for the first 10 minutes or so, then PT would work 1-on-1 with them for a half hour, and then give them to an aide/tech to finish up exercises, get ice, etc. Most patients were there for an hour, maybe a little longer.

The only exception to the 2/hour rule was if it was the first appointment (a new evaluation)...then the PT would have a full hour blocked to have with the patient. The last patient before lunch or the last patient of the PT's day would also be a full hour of time. Of course that didn't mean the PTs still wouldn't have an aide take over partway through.