Psychology and CJ Job Paths

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1084793

Hello friends. I am a young student majoring in psychology and criminal justice. I know I am in the correct majors but when it comes to actually shooting for a specific job I become confused with all the different paths I could take. A friend recommended that I post on here to see if anyone has any good cj/psy job combo ideas. Also for those who are more interested in working with victims of crime in a counseling setting would a student want to shoot for a clinical psychology degree or a forensic psychology degree? Thank you for your advice. Undergraduate time can be overwhelming with all the options presented and I would love to hear your opinions. Happy holidays!! (Also I already posted in a forum and was directed to post this in public forums hope this is the right place!!)

Members don't see this ad.

Forensic psychology is a sub-specialty within clinical psychology, but a degree in psychology is only license eligible at the doctoral level. There are a couple of states (like Texas) that allow for a master's level psychological associate, however that is not the norm across states. Some schools also have masters in mental health counseling that have some courses in forensic populations. Honestly, a lot of the people I have met who work with victims of crime are clinical social workers. Social work is rooted in a systems approach, and it intersects very well within criminal justice advocacy. Also, the LCSW is a much more portable degree than a counseling masters. If you want to work clinically in the intersection of mental health and criminal justice with a victim population, the LCSW is your best bet. If you want, a PhD in clinical psych will get you there as well, but depending on your specific goals, the LCSW will probably be a better fit.

Reactions: 1 user