Prosthodontics residency as a foreign student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dentist110

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a British dentist looking to enrol onto a Prosthodontics residency in USA with the intention of returning back to the UK after completion of the programme.

Which schools have good reputation for Prostho training without being extortionately priced. I would be self funding the course from personal savings so need to select a programme which is decent and cost of living will be reasonable as well. I simply cannot afford the likes of UCLA, NYU, Michigan and UPenn.

From my research i have selected Minnesota as my favoured option. I am not keen on the weather at all but we can not win everything! What are people's opinions on Minnesota Prostho course? What is it like living in Minneapolis? I have never visited USA before haha. Importantly what is the application process and is it a competitive course to get into? The website states INDBE is desired but not essential...is that just bull**** haha. Should I definitely sit the INDBE?

Can anyone suggest any other programmes which give decent implant placement exposure and is reasonably priced?

Members don't see this ad.

In terms of cost Minnesota, Uconn, the three texas programs, West Virginia, Lousiana, Tennessee, Augusta, Marquette (borderline expensive), Alabama, North Carolina, University of Florida would all be affordable for an international resident and some even offer a minor stipend. You'd have to contact the program directors to get an idea of how much implant placement, though as of 2015 all prosthodontics programs are required to provide training that provides competency in implant placement for prosthodontics residents.

Members don't see this ad :)
Why do you want to do prosthodontics in the US if you are not planning to practice here? Is there not prosthodontic residencies in the UK?