Production Medicine Information and Lifestyle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lkellyanns

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first-year student with a budding passion in production animal medicine. I have little experience in the field yet and was wondering if anyone could provide me with some insight into the lifestyle, how stressful this area of vet medicine is, job availability, etc. As with most people entering vet medicine, I am fully aware that this profession, in general, is not very lucrative, but if anyone has insight into general salary prospects, that would be helpful as well! I did utilize the AVMA salary calculator just for fun and it said for my area, a starting salary was $90K+ for this field, which seemed quite high to me.

Members don't see this ad.

Seeing as I was being offered 90k for small animal GP in the Denver metro area, 90k for general practice production med sounds very high. I could see that if you were more working for a corporation that does large scale food production maybe. But not for general practice. A friend doing mixed animal in the midwest is getting 70k with 4 days/week plus on call.

I think it’s going to differ by what area of production medicine you go into. Vertically integrated industries like poultry or pig medicine have a different structures and probably going to pay differently (aka more) than production cattle medicine in a traditional rural clinic where you service a large area with lots of different clients and the average herd size is like 30 animals on hobby farms. And even that is different from someone who does mostly things like show pigs and club calves. My friend doing rural mixed started at just over 50k doing predominantly large animal medicine 5 years ago. I know she’s gotten raises but I guarantee she doesn’t make 90k. I was also offered a rural mixed job for 50k but turned it down in order to specialize in pathology.