Problems during surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

annamd1234

Reaction score
Hi!

This is a bit embarassing but I have to ask. I am a first year ophthalmology resident and every time I spend more than 5 minutes on the operating microscope my eyes tear up and my nose starts running like crazy. I sometimes have the same problems when I concentrate too hard to view a fundus.
I have this problem even if I set the intensity of the light on min possible. Are there any tips to not get this problem.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!

This is a bit embarassing but I have to ask. I am a first year ophthalmology resident and every time I spend more than 5 minutes on the operating microscope my eyes tear up and my nose starts running like crazy. I sometimes have the same problems when I concentrate too hard to view a fundus.
I have this problem even if I set the intensity of the light on min possible. Are there any tips to not get this problem.

ATs QID OU, WCs, LH, RTC 6-8 weeks, consider punctal plugs

Reactions: 3 users
Haha. Brilliant! Ophtho EMRs should automatically paste that line at the bottom of the plan section on every a patient note. I definitely don't want to see them back in 6-8 weeks though.

Yeah, remember to blink when you concentrate. Your eyes are drying up. Be careful if you wear contact lenses because if your eyes dry up too much the contacts will fall out while you're operating.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
P: Artificial tears 2-3x per day. Discuss computer eye strain. Return 1 month for undilated follow up

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

"Recommend Lipiflow and IPL... collect 3k"

Reactions: 1 users