PRITE/Board exam studying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaylasdf123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m worried about my PRITE exam scores as I’ve been failing the in-service for the past two years.

What are the best way to get old PRITE exams for practice? What are the best resources to use for reading and practice problems. I’m obviously not as concerned about the PRITE exam (except the low score is a blow to my ego) and I’m more concerned about how I’ll do on my Board Exams coming up soon. Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

My advice is to simplify things. Just get this book:
Psychiatry Test Preparation and Review Manual
3rd Edition
ISBN-13: 978-0323396158, ISBN-10: 0323396151

Read it, do all the test questions in the back timed repeatedly until you score at least an 80 on each test. Then you can do well on the PRITE and the actual board exam. That's it. Don't buy 15 different books or worry about digging up old PRITES, stop worrying, stop wasting time. There is no substitute for just doing the work. It takes about two weeks full time, or a month or two if you just work on it for an hour or two per day.

Reactions: 1 user
Old PRITE tests are not a curriculum. Going over old PRITE tests does help your PRITE score because they reuse, or slightly modify some old questions, but it doesn't teach you much psychiatry. There is literature that says PRITE scores do predict passing the boards, but this includes people who really know the material who didn't just memorize old tests. I don't think going over old PRITE tests helps you pass the boards much. At least, there are more efficient ways to learn about psychiatry.

Members don't see this ad :)
My advice is to simplify things. Just get this book:
Psychiatry Test Preparation and Review Manual
3rd Edition
ISBN-13: 978-0323396158, ISBN-10: 0323396151