Pressure from parent :( Switching from pre-med to pre-PA to pre-nurse

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

inquisitivegirl2731

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a very hard-working student for a long time (took 11 AP classes in high school and passed them all; currently a 4th year undergrad with a 3.9 GPA for my neuroscience degree), but my focus on years and years of a heavy school workload have recently made me more depressed with not getting a lot of social time.

I wanted to become a PA to have a greater work-life balance and to curb my stress, but regrets from not doing well in my first job as an ER scribe (couldn't manage the 25 hours/week while I was a full-time student and transferring into my university) has made me consider becoming a nurse first after I graduate so I can ease into the field better, enjoy the longer patient interactions, get a variety of health care experience, and make some more friends.

My mom definitely was happier when she could brag that I was a pre-med student. PA, physician assistant, sounds like a "limitation". "Do you want to become a PA so you can earn less money?", despite all my attempts to explain the profession to her. Now I want to become a nurse to open the doors for me to become a PA or NP. I don't even want to tell her :'(

Members don't see this ad.

At the end of the day its your life and not hers, do what YOU feel compelled to do.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I couldn't care less what my parents should think my professional goals should be. They put in their input from time to time.

This issue seems to be more common among women than men, or at least they post about it more.

Be whatever you want.

Also, medical scribing is intense.

Reactions: 1 user