pre-med to NP/PA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sneezy2020

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am currently a pre-med student in a post-baccalaureate program. The course workload has definitely forced me to confront some feelings of mine. I wanted to check-in and see if anyone here had something to offer/were in my position.

To start off, I am a non-trad with a BS in healthcare administration. I got exposed to patient care and took the plunge into medicine. I researched and found that medicine, an MD degree, would best for me. I wanted to understand the underlying reasons for the ailment and have the opportunity to heal patients.

I know it is 100% doable for women to be MOMS and DOCTORS. I am just not sure if it is more me? I am a family person and thrive off of it. I am finding the course load difficult and while I know all good things take time, hard work, and perseverance, pursuing medicine would mean I would be giving up a lot to make it in my career. If I knew my sacrifice would be 1-5 years, I would hold the fort down and go for it. But, I, along with family and loved ones are sacrificing a lot if I did continue on this path.

Have any of you been in the same position? What type of lifestyle do PA/RN/NP students have? Do you have time for family, life, connections, traveling? Do you have any regrets not pursuing an MD degree? Is being a PA/NP fulfilling?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Have any of you been in the same position? What type of lifestyle do PA/RN/NP students have? Do you have time for family, life, connections, traveling? Do you have any regrets not pursuing an MD degree? Is being a PA/NP fulfilling?