PreDent to Pharmacy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

future smile fixer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently a pre dental student rethinking dentistry and considering pharmacy.

I'm rethinking denitstry because a 400k debit is really unappealing to me and honestly I'm just trying to practice my art without the bureaucracy that comes with it. I don't think I can balance a family with a career in dentistry either.

That being said, I am looking into pharmacy (I'm a rising senior, if I do switch career plans, I'd graduate, take my PCAT early next summer, apply to school by the deadline). Can I get some insight as to why I should/shouldn't pursue Pharmacy?

Members don't see this ad.

Why you shouldn’t pursue pharmacy:

Still a lot of debt - often over $200k

Saturated job market with rising unemployment and hours and hourly rates being cut. Pharmacy chains are closing down schools while record numbers of new grads flood the market each tear.

You get treated as a fast food or assembly line worker in most of the jobs available to pharmacists

There are much better professions out there, i.e. computer programming, finance, accounting, engineering, etc that pay as well as pharmacy if not better without you having to take out $200k+ in loans and spend another 4 years of your life in school.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm just trying to practice my art without the bureaucracy that comes with it