Pre-med Track 25 year old URM father of two

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jpineapple

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,
I have browsed SDN since who knows how long in attempts to gather as much information about my future goals as possible; however, this is my first time actually posting a thread. I was wondering on some input from anyone willing to assist me in what I had on my mind as far as a couple of topics.

I was born and raised in Mcallen, Texas which sits at the southern most tip of Texas about 15 to 20 minutes from the Mexico border. This area is known as being huge on medicaid if you haven't seen it on the news from time to time. This area is also known as being greatly undeserved in the physician aspect of health care with,

"the doctor-patient ratio in South Texas, which averages 57 physicians per 100,000 people, compared to the statewide average of 157 and national average of 220 physicians per 100,000 people" (2008 figures)

Link: http://www.setexasrecord.com/news/2...dedicates-medical-school-in-rio-grande-valley

I am a Mexican-American (Hispanic - URM) who grew up in what you would call an economically disadvantaged background with my mother being a single parent earning barely earning about 25K on a good year. Also, out of 6 children I am the only one currently attending college with only 2 of 6 being actually high school graduates.