Pre-med? Nursing? Please Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Whalelover

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a freshman in college with an Art History major on a pre-med track. I am currently seriously struggling with Chem1. I have a D in the class and I'm on the verge of dropping the class. I've always really wanted to become a surgeon but, if I'm already struggling with Chem1, how am I going to get through all the other harder Chem classes?... Becoming a doctor is my dream but I'm trying to be realistic and finding other routes that would fulfill my dream of wanting to work in the medical field. I found nursing as another option and I really do like the idea of it. I'd like to go to grad school and become a PA after. But here's the problem. Today, my mom's doctor called me because my mom told her about me changing to nursing. The doctor told me not to switch and that I should continue being on pre-med. She said it does not matter if I get C's and that I should not already be afraid of the path. I agree. However, if I end up dropping my pre-med track, I will have my bad grades in chemistry classes in my record that would hurt my gpa when I try to apply to Nursing school. I don't know what to do and everyday I'm persuading myself that nursing would be a better option for my but I also love the idea of becoming a doctor. Has anyone every had the same trouble? Also, if I want to become a surgical nurse, what would I have to do to become it?
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.