Reaching out for advice as a nursing student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rk01

Reaction score
First post here and while looking around I have seen posts similiar, but I am wanting to reach out for advice anyways. I am a student nurse in an associate nursing program. My grades are on the low side as I did not put much effort in my prerequisites and have aimed to "just pass" up untill now where I have started to think about trying my hand at med school. Before clinicals and working as a tech and a few shadow hours I had limited experience in the health care field and what Physicians do but now with insight on what they do I have fallen in love. I am planned to graduate in May of this year with a ADN but the area I am seeking advice is which path to take. From my understanding I could either transfer to a premed program and complete the remaining classes I need for the MCAT or I could complete a online RN-BSN (would take roughly a year) and then apply to a post bac, special masters or a DIY. Which path would be the best option?

My stats: cGPA 3.05, sGPA 2.98 (without nursing classes as I don't believe they are counted as science cources)

I am 100% alright with applying to DO programs as well

my end goal would be either emergency med but I do love the world of microbio and have thought about infectious disease as well

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user