Pre M.D./PhD Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greatscott12

Reaction score
Med School Advice

Hello everyone, thank you in advance for taking your time to read and respond to my post. I wanted to provide a little bit of a background. I am a first generation college student so everything of higher education is extremely new to me and somewhat intimidating. To be honest I don't even know how I have come this far, my father and I were homeless for 2 years. I am a junior neuroscience major attending UCSD and have a 3.5 GPA/ sGPA of 3.6. I have 100+ hours of volunteering experience at the UCSD Moores Cancer Center and work as a Lab Technician doing research for neurodegenerative diseases at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies. I take care of my father who is chronically ill and does not receive any government assistance because of his undocumented status so I am financially responsible for the both of us (long story short mom left when I was 2 months). I am 22 years old and have continued pushing to finish school, it has been a long road. I have tried to juggle everything while selling cars at a dealership working 60+ hour work weeks and thankfully that is over now lol. There has been a lot of bumps on the road but that is a part of life and all I can do is push forward.

I was just looking for some advice on how to be a stronger candidate, I would love to enroll in a PhD/M.D. program as I love research and would like to dedicate my life to research for potential cures. Also, during med school applications does my life story matter? Will I be able to tell my story? Or will my stats be most important. I have not taken the MCAT yet, I plan to take it June-September of 2020. I have built a routine of daily MCAT questions through Kaplan and plan to get other study materials as soon as I can.

Again thank you all very much. I wish you all the best and happy holidays.