Pre-Dental vs. Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Ortho

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pre-med student currently. I recently thought of the idea of maybe applying to dental school instead. I know the requirements are the same for both. What made everyone decide to go pre-dental rather than pre-med? Im going to try to shadow some dentists so i can figure out if dentistry is something im interested in. I really want to be a surgeon of some sort, so maybe dentistry is the next best thing. I really like to work with my hands and i really like to help people! What do you all think? What are your reasons for going pre-dental? What makes it a more appealing profession than medicine? Do you just love teeth? haha. Let me know your opinions!!

Members don't see this ad.

Dr. Ortho said:
I'm a pre-med student currently. I recently thought of the idea of maybe applying to dental school instead. I know the requirements are the same for both. What made everyone decide to go pre-dental rather than pre-med? Im going to try to shadow some dentists so i can figure out if dentistry is something im interested in. I really want to be a surgeon of some sort, so maybe dentistry is the next best thing. I really like to work with my hands and i really like to help people! What do you all think? What are your reasons for going pre-dental? What makes it a more appealing profession than medicine? Do you just love teeth? haha. Let me know your opinions!!