Pre-Dental Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vi07

Reaction score
Hi! This is my first post so I am not sure if I am doing this correctly lol but I wanted some advice. I just found out that I failed my second calc 1 exam after a week and a half of studying. I am going to drop the class because there is no way that I will be able to pass with a C. Before I get more into it, I will introduce myself a bit. I am currently a sophomore pre-dental student. I transferred to a new school in the fall because I wanted a stronger STEM department and more STEM opportunities that I felt that my previous institution did not provide. I ended my freshman year with a 3.63 and took a full-year of general chemistry and biology. At my current institution, I was taking organic chemistry but unfortunately was failing due to certain circumstances so I chose to take a W. Since my school is smaller, certain classes are only offered during certain semesters (ex: gen chem 1 and 2 are only offered in the Fall, biochem is only offered in the Spring, etc), so when I dropped Orgo 1, I knew I would have to wait until my junior year fall semester to take it. Back to Calc 1, so I realized as a human biology major that my major does not require me to take calc 1 and most dental schools do not require it, so I do not care about dropping it, I just do not know if it is bad to have 2 Ws on my schedule now. I am really upset because I spend a lot of time studying and often times do not get the results I am looking for. My school also does not curve so there is really nothing to fall back on and my school has a rule where you cannot retake a class in the summer at a different institution if you passed, even if it is not passing for dental school. I am not worried about my GPA as I had a 3.97 last semester, but since I dropped orgo 1, I was not taking super rigorous classes. I just feel like a failure because I did decently well f