PostBacc LMU vs CSU San Marcos (Need advice)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fanc1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a bit of a dilemma (a good dilemma - always good to have options) and would appreciate some advice. I've been accepted to both Loyola Marymount's Post bacc program and CSU San Marcos program.

I'm trying to figure out which is the best fit for my situation. I just don't have enough data to make a comfortable decision. I'm a nontraditional student, extensive medicine/science-related background (several pubs, years of volunteer work, I have direct patient interaction now) and will overall have very strong LORs. My sGPA is abysmal, but this is from taking classes almost a decade ago. I've accepted it will never be repaired and so I will need to minimize this defect and focus on doing extremely well during this postbacc and crushing the MCAT when that time comes.

LMU
Pros:
One year program (summer to summer)
Streamlined curriculum to complete reqs that I need
Linkages with following schools:
  • Western University of Health Sciences (DO program)
  • Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (DO program)
Cons:
Calculus based physics course (I would need to brush up)
Must live in LA, will likely need to sell my car
Won't be able to work during because of nature of program, expecting extreme poverty
No real buffer to study for MCAT (I'm assuming I would start material in fall to prepare for following spring / summer)

San Marcos
Pros:
Two year program (starts this fall) with an additional 24 credits of coursework LMU doesn't include
I can work a part time or full time job as classes are in evening
Better neighborhood, more affordable
I can focus on MCAT next year when I have some coursework under my belt
I have a few more months at my current position to make some additional income

Cons:
New program, no outcome data (I would be 3rd cohort)
No linkages