postbac in industry-->MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nabby9

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to know if having an industry job will hurt my chances at MD/PhD programs? If so what are your thoughts on applying MD and then internally applying PhD? Should I continue to apply and find positions in academia and apply in another cycle?

This is the story:
I graduated last May and could not find a job until December which was in industry despite my initial efforts at trying to land an academic position. The research this company is doing is very cutting edge. I am leading my own research projects and presenting data to my managers every week. I am generating more data than I ever did working 3,000 hours in academia as an undergrad, I have learned a considerable deal from wicked smart people working around me. It feels like academia on steroids, things are fast paced, there are a lot of meetings, and everyday I am designing new experiments and analyzing data all the time. I really believe the work the company is doing and the salary is great however I really miss the academic atmosphere and it is still my dream to apply MD/PhD.

I have strong letters from my two PIs. Two 3rd author publications (one in nature), Three abstracts. My GPA is not the greatest (3.55c and 3.60sci) but I hope to make it up with my MCAT in May.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I dont have any personal experience with this, but I do not think it will be a problem. I met several people on the interview trail with substantial industry research experience. If anything, I think it will be a major strength at some programs.