Post-bac programs and submitting grades

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ozzybaj

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first time using SDN so if i am posting something incorrectly I apologize ahead of time. I am here to ask you a question pertaining to Post-bacc programs and the submission of grades. I have tried using google but have found no help.

I graduated from undergrad in December of '15. I was going to apply but realistically my GPA is not good enough to merit an acceptance. I started working full time as a scribe and got accepted to a Masters program at TCMC.

I understand that an early submission to medical school means submitting my application in July. Since my classes begin in August, can I submit my AAMC application in July, and say in my application that I will submit my grades when I receive them in Nov/ Dec of this year. Does this screw me over? Does it mean that I would have to wait another year and then apply in 2017 to get in 2018? Or do many students find themselves in my situation and is this a common occurrence for application committees? Hypothetically speaking, if i were to submit my application in July, and do really well in my masters and submit a GPA of 3.8, do I stand a chance?

A little outside information about myself. I got a 512 on my MCAT. My undergrad GPA was a 3.0 (I know this sucks). My plan, which I full well intend to execute, is to go into this masters programs and give it my best go and get a 3.8 or above and send that to AAMC.

Any feedback would be hugely appreciated. Thank you in advance

Members don't see this ad.