DO Podiatry to DO - cGPA 3.30 - sGPA 3.20 - MCAT 29

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPMtoDO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year podiatry student who has determined (admittedly a bit late) that my interest in medicine is larger than just the foot and ankle. I decided with podiatry initially due to an interest in surgery.

My cGPA is 3.30, sGPA is 3.20 and MCAT is 29 (9B, 10P, 10V)

These include retakes.

ECS include teaching English abroad for a year, shadowing and volunteering at a hospital.

Had a rocky patch in undergrad due to personal issues that have been resolved. Podiatry school conversely is going well and although the first semester isn't over and final scores have not been determined, I have generally been in the upper regions of class rank. 3.5-4.0 looks realistic.

Assuming I get a DO LOR, would my status as a podiatry student disadvantage me? Do I have a reasonable shot at any decent programs?

EDIT: Tweaked the GPA numbers. Calculated my DO GPA incorrectly.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I have questions.
Have you applied during a previous medical school admissions cycle?
Are you planning to finish DPM and then apply or drop out?

If you are planning to drop out that is a huge red flag IMO. Especially if you previously applied MD or DO.
If were being honest you likely had this feeling all along. You would have a tough time convincing me (and by extension adcoms) that you had this epiphany about podiatry half way through your first semester of basic science courses.

For better or worse you made a commitment to your podiatry school. Dropping out after the first semester would show poor judgement (in taking the DPM acceptance in the first place, when your really didn't want it) and an unwillingness to follow through once you commit to something.