Please Help ! Need advice ! Counselors not helpful!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akumar29

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Before, anyone gets mad I have been on this forum for over 6 months and used the search button frequently but I would really appreciate advice directly related to me so I can see whats going on with me here.

- I want to go to a D.O school (preferably ccom)
- My GPA is very low (2.7) I am a junior right now
- I am studying for MCATs, volunteer, and hunting research options
- This semester I worked hard but still fell a little short of As
- And will work hard for next semesters
- I really want to be a doctor

Q1) I want to retake Bio II, Orgo I, and Chem I and II ( I received c,c,c,b). Would that look horrible on my application. I got a A in Orgo 2.
You don't need to retake a B since you have bigger fish to fry. Retake BioII, Org I, and Chem I if you want.
Q2) If it is okay to retake those courses, when should I retake them.
There's no rule book to this. Just as soon as you can is the obvious answer.
Q3) My college does not allow retakes. So If I take them at a cc and send to them AACOM, would they still accept them regardless of what my university says about retakes?
Most likely, assuming it is the SAME class at the cc.
Q4) How many retakes is it okay to take? I know there is not a exact number but based on my case what would you say?
Again, there's no rule book. As many as you feel is necessary to recover from your GPA. Retaking 3 classes isn't too bad. Retaking 10 may raise some flags, especially if they are lower level courses... but you gotta do what you gotta do.
Q5) How else can I improve my chances of becoming a doctor?