Please help me set up a plan for getting into Dental School...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ROGERxThat

Reaction score
Hello, I’m new to the community, and I’m glad I’ve found this website!:)

A little background information, I’ve graduated college with a degree in finance, worked for 5 months and did not enjoy it what so ever. I shadowed a family friend who is a dentist and I absolutely loved it! With that being said I’m going back to school...

I finished my finance degree with a 3.3 (I could have done a lot better, but I was more passionate about college sports). I have not taken any science pre reqs, after talking with advisors, I will be able to apply the summer of 2021.

So my question is what should I do to make myself a strong dental school candidate? I am not working, or playing sports, and I am going to dedicate all my time to studies, and shoot for atleast a 3.7 on the pre reqs. How many shadowing hours should I try to obtain? I have about 50 hours volunteering for a low income after school program. I’ve noticed some candidates are involved in dental clubs. Should I look into doing so? My main concern is, if I’m going back to school I want to give myself the best chance at getting in.
I apologize if this post is not allowed here!

Members don't see this ad.

Find a post-bacc program or Masters in the sciences, do well (3.5+), take the DAT get 20+, and then you are good to go!

So I take it you would not recommend just going back to a university and taking the Lee reqs? Honestly I’m not to aware of any post bac programs near me (KS).

Members don't see this ad :)
So I take it you would not recommend just going back to a university and taking the Lee reqs? Honestly I’m not to aware of any post bac programs near me (KS).