Plan B

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nsdhfk

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I invite all to answer this question, but it is certainly geared more towards senior year undergrad students.

What is your major? What if you don’t get into veterinary school right away, what is plan B in terms of future schooling and work?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think I've fully come to face with the fact that I may not be at a vet school come next fall. However, somewhere in the distance is the idea of moving in with a friend, get a job at a clinic or the like (maybe at a large animal hospital) and then study my ass off for the GRE. If I don't succeed the next year, then I'd consider a masters program...

I have a B.S in ecology, minor in chemistry. This is my first time applying.

Plan B - move back home to save money and keep working at the vet clinic. Meet with the admissions people to see where my app's weak points were and fix them. Apply again. (Lather, rinse, repeat)

If I didn't get in on the second try, I'd look at the Caribbean schools.

But I really hope that Plan A works : )

Members don't see this ad :)
Like others, I haven't fully faced the idea that I might not get in, but there are always a few options. I love one of the clinics I work at and I think I would ask to work there full time and find myself an apartment/force myself upon one of the techs (I'm sure they would love that).

I feel like many of us have a similar plan, which involves two parts:
1) finding a place to live--either with friends or parents
2) more experience, and then if that doesn't work, more schooling.

Which, by the way, is also my plan.

I'm a senior getting a B.S. in biology and a minor in chemistry.