Air Force Pilot-Physician Program (Engineering)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EngineerMedic

It's not rocket surgery...
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post on the forums and I wanted to get some information/advice about the USAF’s Pilot-Physician Program (PPP). For background: I am currently an undergraduate student, and I still have enough time to shuffle majors/minors around, take certain electives over others, etc. My current declared majors are Physics (basically pre-graduate-engineering at my school) and Biology (I’m loosely on a pre-med track with that), but, as I said, I still have enough semesters left to drop one, pick up a minor or two, whatever.

I have already done some amount of online research about the PPP and I have turned up the following major information:

Now, were I the typical hopeful, I could probably gather all the information that I need from that and be on my way. But (like many people who are interested in such a niche program, I reckon) I am not really the typical case. Unlike most everyone here, I do not primarily want to pursue a career in practicing medicine. The end-goal career I am most interested in is the application of Biomedical Engineering to aerospace systems: think of life support and preventative medical technology for astronauts and high-altitude pilots. As such, PPP would be more of a stepping-stone for me in the really long-run (albeit a large one, and I am definitely interested in the job on its own merits as well—I have always been interested in medicine, aviation, military).