PI ripping off my research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

javandane

He's so hot right now
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
prior to starting med school, i worked as a research associate at a medical school in the midwest. the last year of my research was spent developing and testing a new protocol, which produced a lot of data. however, i expressed concern to the PI about publishing the data, as much of it was preliminary, and confirmatory experiments often produced conflicting results. after leaving last summer, i maintained no contact with the lab for various reasons. recently, i discovered the PI published a paper that contained all of the data i generated while developing the protocol. i'm concerned because 1) at the time i performed the experiments, i got conflicting results (which apparently the PI disregarded in favor of publishing the work), and 2) i was given no author line on the paper. is there any recourse i can take?

Members don't see this ad.

Wow, I found myself in a very similar situation. Worked for a tyrant a few years back, got fed up and left, and recently, experiments with what would appear to be my data show up in JI.

What city were you in as far as the Midwest goes? I too would like know if there's any type of recourse. Unfortunately, I would think that there isn't, simply because the final choice is up to the PI. I would love to be mistaken though.

Contact the journal and see. If your PI did what you said he/she did, that's not cool!

Members don't see this ad :)