PhD admissions without a master's...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

saheckler

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to apply to PhD programs in public health but I don't have a master's degree and am worried about my undergrad grades. I have a bachelor's in nursing and Spanish with 9 years experience as an RN (6 years clinical, 3 years in health education and program planning). I had a 3.5 undergrad GPA with very inconsistent grades. Lots of As, but also a C+ in calculus, a C in stats (I just retook at a community college and got an A), a D in orgo (retook and got a B), and some Bs in other hard sciences. My issue in undergrad is I was struggling with depression and had no idea what I wanted to do and felt lost and my grades reflect that, but I don't think that explanation will sound very good to an admissions committee, especially when I'm competing against people with a master's and high GPA! My depression is controlled now and I am highly motivated and excited about pouring myself into research, but my grades don't necessarily reflect that I'm capable. I'm taking the GRE this month and am hoping to do really well, but am not sure how much that would redeem iffy grades.

I have a year of research experience with a public health faculty member at the University of Michigan studying PrEP adherence and HIV. I'll have a couple of articles published with her as well as a book chapter on LGBTQ+ policy in nursing and health (first author).

My favorite programs (of course) are Harvard, Yale, and Johns Hopkins because they are such a great match for my research interests (LGBTQ+ health disparities). Is it absolutely insane for me to apply without a master's and a pretty average GPA with some low grades in quant and hard sciences? I'm also applying to some PhD Nursing programs, but I think public health is a bit better fit. Thanks very much for your input and insight!

Members don't see this ad.