PharmD to NP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iamapharmacist

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a pharmacist who is interested in changing careers. Potentially to an NP. Does anyone know what would be the most efficient way to convert? I understand in order to become an NP, you would have to be an RN first? Is there an accelerated program for people who have higher degrees that could shorten the time? Thank you in advance for your advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Fastest thing you could do is an accelerated BSN that takes a year, then get into a 2 year NP program. NP is getting as saturated as pharmacy in many respects. Oddly enough, the folks at nursing programs won’t care much about you having a pharmacy degree. You might want to just become a PA, because you’ll probably have most of the prereqs, and be a hot candidate for them to pick up. I do know of one PA locally that was a pharmacist in their past life that now works for a doctor.