PharmD/JD dual degree...good idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dumplingman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pharmacy student thinking of pursing a law degree after my PharmD and I was just wondering what types of careers are available for a PharmD/JD and if it was worth going for (salary and opprotunity wise).

Members don't see this ad.

class action lawsuit attorney specializing in suing big pharma (King of Torts - John Grisham)

Healthcare Law... defending healthcare practitioners... or malpractice law.. suing healthcare practitioners.

Or chase ambulances.

We have had a few lawyer/pharmacist teach at our school, they seemed to dab in a little of everything. One of them works at a pharmacy full time and drafts wills, etc. on the side. He also represents pharmacist that get in legal trouble sometimes. I dunno about pay but I'm sure its not too shabby

Members don't see this ad :)
PharmD/JD might not be a bad idea if you're interested in patents or intellectual property.

You may want to consider doing some kind of internship or fellowship at a pharma company or law firm to make sure you actually like the job before you invest the time and money to get another degree.

my friend who is a pharmacist is going to pursue law school soon. I think he wants to help represent practitioners and pharmacists. from what I heard it sounds interesting and is higher pay. Although I do think the PharmD isn't going to help much but whatever

Money wise, patent law is the way to go.
I have a friend who has pharm/JD degrees. She is not working now, b/c she is not happy with neither of them:confused:. YES, and she is very depressed.

So make sure that law is for you.
Good luck on your decision.

The Executive Director of the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy is a pharmacist and has a JD. He also teaches the pharmacy law course at Wingate and I think at Campbell and UNC too.