PharmCAS Personal Statement (identifying details)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Br-Alexander

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, in the personal statement, I'm wondering whether admission committees would want me to include the identifying details of my experiences.

For instance, I worked at CVS pharmacy as a technician for about a year.
Would they prefer:
"I worked as a pharmacy technician for a year at CVS Pharmacy." or
"I worked as a pharmacy technician at CVS Pharmacy in Coon Rapids, MN from June 2013 to June 2014."?

I currently work in a hospital. Would out-of-state institutions want to know exactly where the hospital is located, or is just the name of it enough? I ask because they likely won't know which hospital I'm talking about as many hospitals throughout the nation have the same name.

Also, when I talk about my shadowing experiences, and I talk about patient-specific cases that I remember, would they prefer that I refer to the patients by name (obviously, I would use just the first name and nothing else to identify them)? Or just be generic and use the word 'patient' (which might get repetitive)?

For example, should I say:
"I shadowed an MTM pharmacist and I remember one of his elderly patients, Johnathon, who………so on and so forth" or
"I shadowed an MTM pharmacist and I remember the case of one specific elderly patient who………so on and so forth"?