Pharmacist going MD.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmacist.throwaway

Reaction score
Hello,
I am hoping that it is okay for me to post here, hopefully not breaking any rules.
I wanted to get an opinion from practicing physicians to see if what I am about to embark on is not completely insane.
I have been a hospital pharmacist for the past 10 years. Long story short, I always wanted to be a physician and that was the goal right after high school but I moved to the US as an international student and had to abandon medical school for pharmacy school for various reasons but my plan at that point was to finish pharm, get a green card, and apply to med school. I did so and after 10 long years, I have finally applied and actually got accepted. I realize I am very fortunate to be in this position where I do not have any debt other than a mortgage, a solid financial position for my age, and a medical school acceptance.
But over the past few months I have found myself second guessing my decisions. I am 34 years old, with a family who depends on me. I can certainly financially support us through medical school with my savings but I wonder if I will be damaging myself financially for the rest of my life. When I started this journey, I knew that I will financially not be better of compared to staying with pharmacy but felt like its my calling and so had to attempt medicine. But I have suddenly started worrying about it. I have physician friends and I notice that most of these guys just end up talking about "money". I ask myself that if it eventually just becomes all about the money, and if eventually will become just like them, than why even go that route? Now, if I look at pure numbers, I see that i can at least come close to breaking even if I do a shorter residency and make atleast 300k.