PGY-III Ortho Resident considering Financial Assistance Program (FAP)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Strategy

Ortho PGY-III
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a current PGY-III at an Orthopedic Surgery program interested in pursuing military medicine. As a medical student, I had considered HPSP (and was accepted), but did not sign because I wanted to keep my options open and wanted to be able to pursue the specialty training of my choice. 6 years later, I am almost halfway through residency in orthopedics and am glad I made the decision I did. However, my interest in the military still stands and so I am considering the FAP opportunity to do so.

My interests lie in Ortho Trauma and Arthroplasty. I am single. I am interested in the military to be able to serve my country, travel, practice in austere environments, and gain a unique experience that I could obtain on the civilian side. I am NOT interested in a life long career in the military. I understand I will likely fall behind my classmates from a monetary standpoint if I joint and I am okay with this.

A couple questions:
  1. I have considered taking FAP now and then deferring fellowship until after my payback is complete (2-3 years max). As I said above I would most likely do trauma. Thoughts on this vs. the traditional route of FAP throughout residency and fellowship and then payback?
  2. My first interest is the Navy, can anyone speak to Ortho as it differs between the three branches?
  3. I am concerned about skill atrophy. What could I potentially do to prevent this and how real is this problem?
  4. Is there anything else I should know?
Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,