Pennsylvania scope of practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Huskies213

Huskies213
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a prospective pod student (living) and practicing in pennsylvania. I was wondering if anyone would know the scope of procedures that a PA podiatrist is able to perform? via forefoot,rearfoot, ankle etc. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Huskies213 said:
Hi guys,

I am a prospective pod student (living) and practicing in pennsylvania. I was wondering if anyone would know the scope of procedures that a PA podiatrist is able to perform? via forefoot,rearfoot, ankle etc. thanks!

Scope of Practice for Podiatric Medicine in Pennsylvania include the diagnosis and treatment including mechanical and surgical treatment of ailments of the foot, and those anatomical structures of the leg governing the fuctions of the foot. Hence, Podiatric Surgeons can operate on the forefoot, rearfoot, and ankle. Podiatric Surgeons can perform surgery on soft tissues (tendons, etc..) in the leg, as long as the soft tissue affects the function of the foot. Podiatric Surgeons in PA are NOT permitted to perform leg and foot amputations. However, Podiatric Surgeons are allow to perform toe amptutations.

Hopefully, this answers your question. If you have any other questions, feel free to ask since I am currently practicing in Pennsylvania as a Podiatric Surgeon.

DPM...what school did you go to if you don't mind me asking. There is only one that specifies surg. Can you pref surg if grad from any of the pod schools? I am recently looking into this option. Very interested in surgery. From PA. Feel free to PM or email direct at [email protected]. Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad :)