Penn State, Albany, VCU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docsleeper

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Coming down to the wire..I need some opinions concerning quality of these programs from peoples experiences or what they have heard. If you could give advice concerning quality versus location..Appreciate all the help...Albany is close but i feel as though Penn state has a much stronger program..And VCU not really too sure about reputation but liked the hours..Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Go with your gut and where you'd like to spend the next few years. VCU's residents seemed insanely happy on the interview trail...all smiles.

you'll probably work harder at Penn State, but I think it is the strongest all around program of the three

Members don't see this ad :)
I can't comment on VCU or Albany since I only interviewed at them. But, since I'm a resident at Penn State I can give you an idea of how it runs there.

Four year program rocks. You get lots and lots of anesthesia training in your first year which really is a huge advantage. I'm a current CA-1 and by the end of last year I was doing major traumas, some peds and lots of complex cases. They restructured the schedule and now you start your specialty rotations in the CA-1 year. This means that you get CT, peds, and neuro in the first year. I don't know of any other programs where you are doing bypass cases in the CA-1 year (but, then again I only know residents at some programs).

The moral is good. We have a new PD, who was our old vice-PD. She is amazing. She is very pro-resident and really cares about us.

We rotate off service during the first two years (to fullfill the intern requirement). Generally, when you are on those services you will be treated with a great deal of respect.