PEM Attending Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FrkyBgStok

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a peds resident preparing my application this fall for pediatric EM. I was debating whether to post this in peds or EM so I thought I would try here. I am hoping to chat with a PEM attending and ask a couple questions over PM. I am basically looking to for a reasonable PEM hourly rate, ideally in the midwest reason, but I was hoping to get some other advice specific to my situation. Thanks ahead for anyone willing to give me a little of their time.

or is anyone willing to ballpark a decent PEM hourly rate. doesn't even matter if it is academic or community, but both would be appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

My understanding is that the pay for peds EM is about the same as the pay for general EM. With that in mind, the link below leads to a pretty good ballpark summary of current rates, which are highly variable by region.

Err, SDN thinks I'm a spammer and won't let me paste a link in. So google the terms below and click the first link.

acepnow compensation report

Members don't see this ad :)
My understanding is that the pay for peds EM is about the same as the pay for general EM. With that in mind, the link below leads to a pretty good ballpark summary of current rates, which are highly variable by region.

Err, SDN thinks I'm a spammer and won't let me paste a link in. So google the terms below and click the first link.

acepnow compensation report
As Apollyon noted above, PEM generally gets paid less than EM but more than peds.

At my shop the PEM physicians make 10% less than the regular EM physicians. This is still an excellent salary, and given the far lower level of complexity and acuity of the average peds ER cases compared to adult cases, I think this is very fair and generous.