Peds Salaries and Job Offers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adiddy25

medical student
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think we often do a disservice to ourselves by not talking about salary info in pediatrics. And oftentimes info on websites like "salary.com" are misleading or vague. I was hoping that current residents and recent grads would post info about job offers they have received. Please include location, gen peds vs. specialty, salary, benefits, call schedule, etc. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I agree 100%. This would be INCREDIBLY helpful for those of applying to and entering Peds residency. I know I think about future salary and call schedule all the time, especially given me not-insignificant student loan levels.

One thing I would also like to know about is offers of loan repayment. Anybody getting those?

So I am a recent grad of peds residency. Most of my classmates were offered in the 130's to begin in the southeast. Many came with other perks like 401 or moving expense. I recently saw an add for a job close by that was 175 starting with loans paid off- I think that was an exception rather than rule. Academics in Southeast start in 90's with lots of perks.

I work in ER and my income fluctuates a bit more month to month, but I make significantly more than my classmates that went into private practice. Subspecialties vary a ton. that's my 2 cents. Oh and I don't take call- 15 shifts per month

Members don't see this ad :)
I'd like to know more about how to find a job after residency. I've never seen pediatrician job listings on hospital websites or employment websites. Is it mostly through word of mouth and by who you know? If that is the case, should we be choosing a residency based on where we want to work after we're done?