Peds/Child Neurology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SarahE

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi -

I'm a third year student hoping to do pediatrics and child neurology. I know that most peds neuro programs accept applications from students for PGY-3 but then you have to find a peds position for the first two years. I'm concerned about whether I'll be able to find a peds program to take me knowing that I'll just be doing the first two years. Any idea how people usually work this out? Should I apply to some peds programs for 3 year positions as back-up (6 years of residency instead of 5 still beats having to scramble).

Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Sarah,

I am only going into my 2nd year but I have looked into this because of my strong interest in ped neuro. Most of the ~65 programs take students for PGY-3, as you already know, and themselves have pediatric programs to which you must simultaneously apply. Within the X # of spots that particular program offers for general peds positions, they usually set aside a spot or two for future residents such as yourself who will likely complete 2 years rather than the full 3 years. I think you have to apply for the pre-fellowship peds through ERAS but you negotiate with child neuro programs for the fellowship years (PGY-3 through 5) since they do not use either ERAS or SF Match. Hope this helps, and be sure to get a 2nd opinion;) !! Good luck.

sarah thanks for the post and thanks medpuck for the response - i am still confused because i am in a similar position. it sounds like you apply only to categorical pediatric residencies, but again do you inform the program that your intention is peds neuro? i would think not becuase then they are left with an open pgy3 spot which i cant imagine filling... so unlike adult neurology, there is no way to directly apply to pediatric neurology spots straight from medical school?