PCOM (Georgia) vs LMU-DCOM vs UIWSOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YourFutureMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I have been blessed with the opportunity to be able to choose between these three fine institutions, but I still don't know which one to choose. I am a Georgia resident, in case you are curious :) Here are the pros and cons I have for each school.

GA-PCOM
- Pros: In state (literally 20 minutes from my house), traditional curriculum.
- Cons: Mandatory attendance (This is a big drawback for me. I'd rather study during this time and I would prefer if I got to choose whether/not to go to class because studying at home may be of more benefit sometimes). I'd love if any current GA-PCOM students can chime in?

UIWSOM
- Pro: I love the mission of the school, and everything the school stands for. Although it's out of state, San Antonio would be a great place to live. :)
- Cons: the integrated curriculum. I don't know how to evaluate if this new curriculum is working, because the first class is still yet to take boards. And I also don't know how well I'm going to do with this new curriculum, and one of my friend who goes there discouraged me from going because as a second year student, this person is still "figuring out how to navigate the curriculum". They told me to "choose this school if it is [your] only acceptance".

LMU-DCOM
- Pros: I love the mission and atmosphere of the school, and the traditional curriculum. Attendance is not mandatory, and there is more dedicated time to study for boards.
- Cons: Out of state.