Passing out observing surgeries….am I doomed to fail?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

morganic

Oklahoma State C/O 2025
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I’m a first year vet student and I’m running into an issue…I keep getting extremely light headed anytime I’m standing there observing someone else do something. (And I’m not locking my knees!! I swear on it)

Yesterday, we did an anesthetized goat castration and during the demonstration, I had to sit on the floor because I got so hot and lightheaded and unfortunately I’m pretty familiar with the “about to pass out” feeling. When I was actually doing the castration though I was totally fine and had no issues. But I started getting a little lightheaded watching our goat in recovery, but I was okay after I just walked away for a minute or 2 to distract myself with the awake and still intact goats lol. But I can’t really do that in a surgery without looking like a *******.

Another time it happened was during anatomy lab as the professor was walking my group through the pelvic limb nerves. So that was extremely embarrassing, especially right in front of my professor. But I haven’t gotten light headed any other time in lab.

I can’t help but feel like I’m going to be doomed to fail if I start passing out everytime I’m in the same room as a surgery. I don’t understand why, I have no personal problem with blood or anything. I’ve assisted in tons of (human) laceration repairs and abscess drainages, assisted in spays/neuters, and never had this issue. But something about standing there just watching does something to me.