Chances of getting accepted to a different Vet school if you fail out of your current vet school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theSAvet

Reaction score
I’m currently a first semester student the Saturday evening before my finals week.

I’m not feeling confident going into them even though I only need a 60% across the board to pass them.

I’m extremely unhappy in the program I’m enrolled in and have been thinking and looking into transferring for a while now. However, on the brink of my finals, the thought has evolved into, “will a different school accept me if I fail a course, say GA or Physiology and I reapply?”

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I know of a single case of someone failing out of a US school and then applying to a school in another country and getting in. I wouldn't generally bank on it though. Each vet school has far more qualified applicants than seats, I'm not sure most would take the risk of bringing someone in who had just failed out of another school.

Reactions: 3 users
I know of a single case of someone failing out of a US school and then applying to a school in another country and getting in. I wouldn't generally bank on it though. Each vet school has far more qualified applicants than seats, I'm not sure most would take the risk of bringing someone in who had just failed out of another school.
So would it be better to withdraw before actually failing out? It’s not a case of the work or the material, it’s just the school and the location that are causing so much mental anguish that it’s affecting my health and grades.

Members don't see this ad :)
So would it be better to withdraw before actually failing out? It’s not a case of the work or the material, it’s just the school and the location that are causing so much mental anguish that it’s affecting my health and grades.