OT licensure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cjw0918

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anybody know which states would allow me to get my OT license if I graduated with a BSOT in 99, passed the NBCOT (certification) exam in 2000, but never obtained a state license/worked as an OT? I know I will need some continuing education credit. My home state of Texas said I need to get a license in another state first since it has been more than 2 years since I passed the NBCOT exam. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

cj-

Hmm. I'd say you should give AOTA a call and see. If they don't help you, you might be able to find the info at individual state websites. You could try NY - I'm licensed here and don't remember that you had a statute of limitations on the NBCOT exam.

I find it plain lazy that you couldn't just look up the website yourself (sorry to be so crude), but my obsessive-compulsive personality wouldn't let me not look it up for you. So I cut and pasted this from the Office of Professions website:

§7904. Requirements for a professional license.
To qualify for a license as an occupational therapist, an applicant shall fulfill the following requirements:

File an application with the department.
Have satisfactorily completed an approved occupational therapy curriculum in a baccalaureate or masters program, or a certificate program satisfactory to the department which is substantially equivalent to a baccalaureate degree program, in accordance with the commissioner of education's regulations.
Have a minimum of six months of supervised occupational therapy experience which supervision and experience shall be satisfactory to the board of occupational therapy and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations.
Pass an examination satisfactory to the board of occupational therapy and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations.
Be at least twenty-one years of age.