Ortho - what should I be doing during MS1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scooby Doo

IEatShavedPussyCats
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok...so far I'm a first year medical student and the specialty that seems to grab my attention most is Ortho. It seems like a great field where you get to see results and it is something that I would enjoy doing. Being a first year, should I worry about trying to get any research done this summer for it? Or should I just enjoy my first summer before the real hell sets in. Is there anything I should be doing?
Thanks for any input.

I found the post on broken fingers interesting b/c I have injured pretty much every joint on my body b/c I'm so active. I hurt my ankle a while back...and my left wrist with rugby...now about a week ago I think I either fractured my scaphoid or tore a ligament in my right wrist b/c I can barely move it or put any weight on it. Then both thumbs on both hands are a mess as well...I'm just wondering if it's time to stop playing the more aggressive sports and start to focus on the less chance of injuring myself sports :)

Members don't see this ad.

research early will only help your cause, but it is not mandatory. Make sure you do well in all your classes, rock step I, and try to get some ortho experience. Try to get to know some pods that can write great letters of rec, rather than one that says you answered all your pimp questions right in the OR. Also, try to be as well rounded as possible. Get involved in some community activities...don't just live for ortho.