Oral board challenge

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Laurel123

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

25 year old G1 at term comes into labor floor in labor. She is 300 pounds, short, with a short fat neck, Mal 4 mouth and a big fat face. No previous surgeries. Check the baby, and baby is down, down, down - OB's pages for a emergent C/S and that is where we meet her for the first time. She looks like the type of patient I would intubate awake if she walked in for elective surgery, but now the OB's are saying we need to get the baby out NOW.

Now do you proceed?

Members don't see this ad.

Options

1) Start under local while you get the airway

2) spinal catheter

3) prop, sux, tube, pray

My personal practice is 1)....have done it a couple of times.

Im still a resident, but we very frequently mentally masterbate over this exact topic as our patient population averages 250lbs and often have comorbid conditions.

From our discussion there are 2 thoughts.

1. Given that there are a host of airway devices that can temporize and or "fix" a bad airway, then you induce. The caveats are you have an extra set of hands, you have a LMA, combitube, jet ventilator and you are calling trauma surgery that you need them STAT.

2. Second thought, basically if you are forced into that situation, and you feel that if you induce this lady she most likely will either be a veggie or die then you DONT! Reason is you dont know how long the baby has been hypoxic, and even if you get the baby out it may still be a "BAD" baby. Also you never kill the mother to save the baby. Obviously if you go with this, be prepared to be sued and have bad blood with the OB dept. I personally know of an attending who made this call, came thru unscathed and sleeps well knowing he did not kill 2 patients.

I would assume the board answer is along thought process #1.

Members don't see this ad :)