Optometry in the UK, practicing in Canada

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Uk'er

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have sent away my application to the UK for optometry. Right now, I am a 3rd year pre-optometry student at the University of Waterloo. Anyway, I have had zero luck finding out what is required in order to practice in Canada after receiving your Doctor of Optometry in the UK. I realize Waterloo has the bridging program now, but no one has been able to tell me whether when the Canadian Board of Optomterists assess my qualifications whether I would be able to write the Ontario exam right away, go into the 1 month bridging program, or the 1 year program. Also, can anyone say whether there is an advantage to doing the 4 year program at Glasgow Caledonian over the 3 year anywhere else in the UK? If anyone has graduated from the UK and is now practicing in Canada or trying to, any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Uk'er said:
I have sent away my application to the UK for optometry. Right now, I am a 3rd year pre-optometry student at the University of Waterloo. Anyway, I have had zero luck finding out what is required in order to practice in Canada after receiving your Doctor of Optometry in the UK. I realize Waterloo has the bridging program now, but no one has been able to tell me whether when the Canadian Board of Optomterists assess my qualifications whether I would be able to write the Ontario exam right away, go into the 1 month bridging program, or the 1 year program. Also, can anyone say whether there is an advantage to doing the 4 year program at Glasgow Caledonian over the 3 year anywhere else in the UK? If anyone has graduated from the UK and is now practicing in Canada or trying to, any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!