All Branch Topic (ABT) Opportunities in Aerospace Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

USAF Flight Doc

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you are fascinated by the worlds of space, aviation, diving, or the wilderness, aerospace medicine or some of the other disciplines within 'occupational medicine' may be for you. The basic principle within these fields is treating a normal, healthy patient in an abnormal environment, rather than almost all other fields of medicine in which healing an abnormal patient in a normal environment is the goal.

All 3 branches of the DoD offer aviation medicine, though the Army's is not nearly as robust as the USAF and USN versions of aerospace medicine. The Navy also offers opportunities in Dive Medicine. Space Medicine (aka Extreme Environments Medicine) opportunities can be found within NASA and the growing private sector.

I'm a doctor and flight surgeon in the USAF. I've practiced medicine in almost 10 separate countries over the 3 years I've been doing the job. I fly in an F-16 at least monthly. I love my job. I plan to return to Emergency Medicine GME after my current tour in Europe and then eventually do Wilderness Medicine (plan to focus on mountain medicine). The big thing to consider is THAT THERE ARE REALLY COOL OPPORTUNITIES IN MEDICINE THAT YOU WILL NEVER EVER HEAR ABOUT IN MEDICAL SCHOOL.

Here is a website I have created promoting the academic discipline: www.goflightmedicine.com

If you have specific questions about flight medicine in the USAF, send me an email at the 'contact us' on my above website or you can also post the question on the forum I just added to my site: http://goflightmedicine.com/forums/

Either way, good luck with your decision!

Members don't see this ad.

The basic principle within these fields is treating a normal, healthy patient in an abnormal environment,