Opportunities for an EMT-B?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Caduceus22

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, thanks for reading.

I'm a current EMT-B student. The class is almost finished, with clinical hours complete and practicals/NREMT testing a few weeks away.

I just joined but the few threads I've picked up so far seem to look down on EMTs. Mostly coming from medical students calling us Empty Minded Twits or what not. Is that the general view of EMTs by this community or is that just a generalization by those few people? I'm just curious about the environment I'm going to be asking for advice in, because I don't want to waste mine or anyone elses time you know. ;)

But that aside, just a quick couple questions for those who want to answer.

My long term goal is to become a Paramedic Firefighter in the area I live in, but thats a ways down the road. My immediate goal obviously is to find someplace I can utilize my training hands on as soon as possible and start building up my experience while still earning an income. Aside from an ER-Tech or ambulance company position, where else can I go that might require an EMT-B? I ask because, unfortunately, I am afraid it will not be easy to get a job in this field, what with the current market conditions. I have heard wildlife disaster control companies like to employ EMT-Bs to aid their Paramedics, but other than that I don't really know anything about it.

So in short, what are some ways or examples in which I can use my certification to get experience while still earning a paycheck?

If anyone has faced this same problem before or knows anything that could help me, your advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: