Opinions on type of salary first starting out: anyone work for VetCor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Swiger38

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a fourth year veterinary student, and am in the process of deciding on where I will be working for my first job. I was wondering if there is a certain salary that is better for new graduates to be on versus others? The one facility I applied for is a straight base salary, whereas the other two are base salary plus production. The one that offered a straight base salary is a very good base salary, while the others I would be guaranteed a lower base salary and then make 20% production if I hit the goals I need without negative accrual. With that said- is there a certain salary- either base or base + production that is more suitable for new graduates? I like the idea of a base salary and not having to worry about hitting certain numbers every month, but then the downside of that is if you make more and are hitting what you need you won't get that extra if you are just on a straight base salary.

Has anyone worked for a veterinary hospital that is owned by VetCor? How was your experience with them?

Members don't see this ad.