opinion of MMEP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fish3715

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello-

I'm a freshman and am currently applying to MMEP (now called SMEP- Summer Medical Education Program :p ). If you did this, which site did you go to and what's your opinion of it? I did a search and saw that there's a lot of love for the Baylor program, but I didn't see people opinions of most of the other sites.

Also, which programs do you think would be best/worst to attend the summer after freshman year? All of the sites (except Columbia :( ) welcome rising sophomores, but it seems that Duke, Chicago & Baylor's (and maybe Yale's) programs are the best since the MCAT prep isn't too in-depth (and the first 3 only allow rising sophomores and juniors).

Members don't see this ad.

i did MMEP back in the mid 90s at the University of Washington and loved it there. seattle rules.

the mcat prep isn't that great in any of the programs -- i mean, there is just too much stuff going on during those few weeks to devote princeton review-type studying for the mcat, so i wouldn't worry too much about that as one of your criteria.

baylor is one of the first sites which is why there's so much love. the UW site (if it still exists) is also great. Columbia's just started a couple of years ago so I really don't know too much about it. I did do my residency at columbia and did have some interaction with the students but it was pretty limited. it did seem as if there were A LOT of students so i don't know how much personal attention is given to students. it's big perk is that you get to be in New York.

regardless what site you choose it's a great program. because of the grant funding the curricula are fairly similar across the sites.

good luck.

Hey Fish!